In a proposed bill, New Jersey legislators are seeking stricter penalties for domestic violence offenders. On Monday, the bipartisan bill, sponsored by Assembly members Pamela Lampitt, Ronald Dancer, and many others, was approved by the Assembly Judiciary Committee. Domestic violence offenders attempting to cause another individual bodily harm by using a deadly weapon or attempting to cause severe bodily harm without any regard for the value of human life would receive second-degree crime charges instead of the current third-degree crime charges. Simple assault cases, which warrant a disorderly persons offense, would be classified as a fourth-degree crime. A longer prison sentence of 18 months instead of six months, and heftier fines in the amount of $10,000 as opposed to $1,000, would be issued to the perpetrator.
The New Jersey State Police report that nearly 20,000 domestic violence arrests occurred in 2015. A majority of harassment cases in that same year resulted in future assaults. The proposed bill would protect domestic violence victims by penalizing their attackers with longer prison sentences and larger fines, which will aid in their recovery from victim to survivor.
For more information and assistance on domestic violence issues, contact our New Jersey domestic violence lawyers at Lyons & Associates PC at 908-575-9777. Contact us online to schedule a consultation. We represent individuals with unresolved family law issues throughout New Jersey at our offices in Bedminster, Bridgewater, South Plainfield, and Woodbridge.